Thursday, October 29, 2009

Restructuring of certain Ministries and Departments

source: Republic of Botswana (23/10/09): TAUTONA TIMES no 26 of 2009
The Electronic Press Circular of the Office of the President
“Democracy, Development, Dignity and Discipline with Delivery”

C2) 20/10/09: Restructuring of certain Ministries and Departments

The following Press Release is from the Permanent Secretary to the President, Mr. Eric Molale -

Following the just ended elections, His Excellency the President, Lt. Gen. Seretse Khama Ian Khama has decided to restructure certain Ministries and Departments.

This is also further to the President's new principle of Delivery being the fifth to his original 4 "Ds" principles that have characterized his Administration.

The departments of Information, Broadcasting and Government Printing and Publishing Services have been relocated to the Office of the President. The Botswana Government Communications and Information Services Division is also being relocated to the Office of the President.

Also moving from the Ministry of Finance and Development Planning to the Office of the President is the Coordinating Office for the Poverty Reduction Strategy, whilst a new one, the Disability Coordination Division, has also been created.

The Government Implementation and Coordination Office has been merged with the Public Service Reforms Division, both of which are in the Office of the President, to create the Government Strategy Development Office.

The Ministry of Communications, Science and Technology and that of Works and Transport have also been restructured as follows:

(I) A Ministry of Infrastructure, Science and Technology has been created comprised of the following departments:

(a) Department of Electrical and Building Engineering Services;
(b) Department of Research, Science and Technology;
(c) Department of Radiation Protection.

(II) A Ministry of Transport and Communications has also been created comprising the following departments:

(a) Department of Road Transport and Safety;
(b) Department of Central Transport Organisation;
(c) Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services;
(d) Department of Roads;
(e) Department of Information Technology

More information on these restructured entities will be communicated in due course.

No comments: